Jesus Loves the Little Children – (Part 4/5)

8 Jun

For the past few years, Mr. and I have been discussing Foster Care and Adoption as part of our plans.

It’s never quite lined up, though.

When I was ready, he wasn’t. When he was ready, I wasn’t.

 

About a month and a half ago, we were sitting and discussing our family. How the kids are perfectly separated in age. How they play like best friends.

Our family is perfect, just the way it is.

Mr. then brought up, “Well, what about fostering? Do you still want to do that?”

“Oh! Yeah! We should really look into that!” I said, feeling excited.

“Maybe we should look into me getting a certain procedure?” he said, hesitantly.

“Yeah. I feel really good about our family right now. I think fostering and maybe, someday adopting is how we should finish our family.” I was feeling really excited. I have wanted to foster for a really long time. One of my dreams was coming true!

We spent the next few days talking about timing for “the procedure”. We decided that we would wait until after our trip to PA in July, and then schedule it for August sometime.

I asked for the packets to start the licensing process for foster care.

We started discussing how many kids would we foster at once? Boys? Girls? Ages? So many decisions to make, but it was all so exciting.

 

A little side note about why I have always felt the desire to foster.

Have you ever heard the saying, “You may be the only “Jesus” they encounter”?

That. That saying is why I want to foster.

There are so many children who have such broken homes and families. They are tossed from foster family, to foster family, because they have issues. If you were taken from your family, you would most likely have issues, too. Just sayin’.

I desperately want to show them the love of Christ. Even if it’s only for a month. I don’t think I can replace their “real mom”. I don’t think Mr. can replace their “real dad”. But, I do think that by showing them Jesus, their eyes, and more importantly, their hearts, can be opened to “real love”.

I want to love children the way that Jesus does. That means not just my own, biological children. It means all of His children, wandering and alone, too.

I want to love all of the Foster Children that Jesus places in my home, just like He loves them.

Thank you, Lord, for this desire you have placed in our hearts, and for the ways You are making this dream become a reality!

4 Responses to “Jesus Loves the Little Children – (Part 4/5)”

  1. Rashelle June 8, 2014 at 3:13 pm #

    Awesome……U are simply blessed!

  2. Sarah Farrell June 8, 2014 at 10:10 pm #

    Awesome!

  3. Jen June 9, 2014 at 8:39 am #

    YES. LOve it

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Miscarriage Story | just like dandelions - June 26, 2014

    […] We decide to become foster parents in Part 4. […]

Leave a Reply

