You Are More Beautiful Than You Think

5 Dec

What defines beauty?

Who defines beauty?

Well, if you are Webster, you define beauty as, ” the quality or aggregate of qualities in a person or thing that gives pleasure to the senses or pleasurably exalts the mind or spirit”.

Gives pleasure to the senses. Hmmmm… Mr. Webster wasn’t very specific as to whose senses. What if it gives pleasure to your senses, but not mine? Is it no longer beautiful? I believe the person who sees the beauty is the one who defines what is beautiful.

As a (shorter than average, overweight, less than striking) woman, I have spent many hours of my life defining what isn’t beautiful about myself.

And all the women said, “amen”.

But why?

Let’s switch gears for a second.

When I walk outside, I am drawn to beauty.

I walk out and see the pretty flowers in the spring, the perfect, white snow in the winter, the birds flying in the summer, and the crispy, crunchy leaves in the fall.

I don’t walk out the door and start pointing out flaws in nature.

“Ew. That flower should have been pink, not blue.”  or “That bird’s wings seem disproportionate to his body.”

So, what is the relevance of the two scenarios?

God.

He made both the flowers, and me. He made the birds, and me.

I believe that all of His creations in “nature” are beautiful. Even the worms. I am in awe of them. And, despite the fact that I don’t find them to be gorgeous, the chubby little hands of my kids can’t stay away from them.

So, if I believe that about the flowers, the birds, and even the worms, why can’t I believe that about me?

Why do I doubt that God actually chose this height for me? Why do I doubt that God chose these lips for me? Why do I doubt that God chose me for me? Why do I doubt that God made me beautiful or pretty or attractive or even “good enough”, let alone perfect… whoa. Did I say that out loud? Am I beautiful? If so, to whom? Certainly not myself.

But, I know someone who sees me as beautiful. Mr.

He is always telling me how pretty I am, or how attracted to me he is.

I always think he is lying.

God chose Mr. for me. He chose someone that he knew would build me up in my insecurities. He chose someone who saw me as beautiful, even when I hadn’t.

But why don’t I think I am pretty?

I think the flowers are pretty, but a colorblind dog walks by and pees on that same flower.

I think the same is true with people.

Growing up, people made fun of me. For anything they could think of, really. That’s how Middle School goes, you know. There are 5 “pretty ones”, and everyone else gets made fun of.

The problem is, as time went on, I allowed myself to believe the “dogs”, and I started telling myself they were right.

But they weren’t. They were wrong. Not because I think that I am beautiful, but because God knows I am beautiful. And, He made everything, so He is right. Also, because He is God, so that also makes Him right. Also, if George Clooney told me I was beautiful…. I digress.

The point is, beauty isn’t “defined”, it is seen. When you choose to see the beauty, it is beautiful. Whether it be people, nature, food, or a pile of laundry. Laundry might be pushing it, but you get the idea.

You have to see the beauty in yourself before you can ever be truly beautiful.

Don’t believe me? Watch this.

Do you think you are beautiful?

This is a very important question to ask yourself. Not because I want you see yourself as beautiful, but because your children and those you influence (youth group, students in class, friends) will take their cues from you.

Don’t teach your kids that beauty is defined. Teach them to see their beauty. And to see the beauty in others. And teach them to tell others that they are beautiful.

Stop seeing the human defined “less than perfect” and start seeing your beauty. Because, my friend, you are beautiful. Believe it.

You are altogether beautiful, my darling; there is no flaw in you. ~Song of Songs 4:7

3 Responses to “You Are More Beautiful Than You Think”

  1. Auntie Nancy December 5, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    I have always seen your beauty through the eyes of my beloved nephew!! Love you inside out!

  2. domolovelr December 6, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

    You hit the nail on the head Elisabeth! Loved it!

  3. Michelle Kish December 9, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    Love this Elisabeth!! Exquisite words here. You are a gifted writer and speak the truth well. I can’t wait to read the other blogs that you wrote already. And as for the laundry, I thought about it and found the beauty: It would look beautiful to my nephew to see a pile of clothes that belonged to him after his birth mother got high and threw all her kids clothes in a dumpster — he arrived at my sister’s home with only the clothes on his back. I bet loads of laundry are beautiful to the Gaie family who also had no extra clothes when they came from the Liberian refugee camp. And to the Guatemalan child who spends the birthday money I send him on desperately needed clothes and shoes, I bet he’d love a big pile of clothes, even if they needed to be washed first. Counting my blessings and looking for beauty all around, treasuring it especially when I find in a friend. Like you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

