*Ahem* Can I Have Your Attention, Please?

4 Nov

Well, I promised you all an announcement, and here it is.

The moment you have all been waiting for.

*Drum Roll please*

Now, before you get too excited, I will warn you, this announcement does involve a baby. And birth. And me.

But not in the way you might think.

After much consideration, I have decided that I will be training to become a Certified Birth Doula and Lactation Counselor.

What does that mean?

According to the MN Department of Health, a Doula “is a trained and/or experienced individual who provides emotional and physical support during pregnancy, labor, birth, and postpartum”. (http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hop/doula/doulafaq.html)

After having 3 very different birth experiences, I have become very passionate about the birthing process and getting the birth you desire. Also, after 2 failed attempts at breastfeeding, I successfully nursed Buddy Boy, despite a dairy allergy!!

While birth and breastfeeding are both “natural”, they don’t always come naturally. I will be offering my services in helping you with both of those!

For the next year or so, I will be working at certifying in Lactation Counseling and being a Birth Doula. While I won’t have my certification for at least a year, I will need tons of practice. If you are interested in a “trainee” attending your birth (for free) or need help with breastfeeding issues, please contact me!

Leave a Reply

