The Boys

29 May

I’ve been “challenged” to write about me. Not my kids, or my husband, or being a mom or wife, but me. Since this challenge has come about, I have spent many hours thinking about me.

I LOVE music. I love all kinds of music. I love listening to music. I love trying to play music. I love reading the lyrics to music. I love the way written music looks. I honestly love music.

Something that is a random fact about me, that speaks volumes of who I am, is that I am hopelessly and 100% in love with Rascal Flatts. Now, this might not seem like it opens the window to the real me, but it does.

My all time, top favorite songs are, “What Hurst the Most”, “Bless the Broken Road”, “She Goes All the Way”, and “Easy”.

1. What Hurts the Most : This is a song, truly about saying what you need to say, when you need to say it. I have a theory, “Say it now, fix it later”. What I mean, is, get the thousands of thoughts out of your head and start somewhere. I am a HUGE advocate for communication. I have often thought about becoming a counselor or therapist, but I don’t have the desire to go back to school. Ever. When I was younger, I was hurt so many times by not saying what I felt. When I would be getting in trouble, and a parent would be scolding me, I would stare straight ahead and “take it”, because of fear that my feelings weren’t valid enough to be heard. Once I was in college, that changed. You can’t live in a room full of girls, on a floor full of more girls, in a building filled with even more girls, and not talk. I tried. It didn’t work. It ended in my roommate and I, sitting in the middle of our floor, sobbing and laying blame, with our building “mom” next to us trying to help us work through it. I learned a lot in those few hours. But, something that I have never let go of, is, “Say it now, fix it later”.

2. Bless the Broken Road : God blesses and appoints relationships. Take a look at the people around you, and tell me that God didn’t bring them into your life. Even those annoying, wanna-punch-in-the-face people… they are there for a reason. Now, this song is speaking more of a romantic relationship, but let’s move past that for a minute.

“You just smile and take my hand, you’ve been there, you understand…”

Who are those people in your life who are willing to hold your hand (sometimes literally), because they know what you are going through? I can’t even list the people who have been there for me, because there are so many.

3. She Goes All the Way : While this song may be construed to be talking of sex, I think it goes beyond that. My favorite line is, “No matter what I need, the answer’s always, ‘Yes’, I only have to dream…” When defining relationships, I look for people that will say “yes” to my needs, and that I want to say, “yes” to theirs. I want to surround myself with people who will not only listen to my dreams and aspirations, but help me achieve them as well.

4. Easy : There is no deep thought behind this song. I just LOVE the duet with Gary LeVox and Natasha Bedingfield.

Once upon a time, this was my favorite song. I was getting ready to go to the Rascal Flatts concert, and Mr. says, “I hope they sing your favorite song!”

I replied, “I do to, but its not gonna happen because its a duet with Natasha Bedingfield, and they surely aren’t bringing her for a concert.”

Later that night, while enjoying the concert, I heard the first 3 notes of “Easy”, and I literally started giggling. Then, out came, none other than, the Natasha Bedingfield. I was on cloud nine.

Anyway, you’ve heard enough about my love of Rascal Flatts.

……

……

…..

Oh, sorry. I was busy daydreaming of “the Boys”. 😉

 

What are your favorite songs, and what do you think they say about you?

Leave a Reply

