Hawaiian Style Ham Steak

1 Mar

Tonight, I made a new recipe. And by made a new recipe, I mean.. made it. Because, I didn’t have one. So, I made it up. And here is what I came up with:

IMG_3942

I call it Hawaiian Style Ham Steak. Or as Mr. called it: Ham Steak with some sort of really good pineapple gravy stuff.

Made with salty ham, sweet brown sugar and tart pineapple, it hits all the notes in this “Medley of MMMMMM”. And with the tangy bite of some Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes, its the ultimate pairing!

The recipe is simple. So simple, its almost not even a recipe.

Did I mention that its SO TASTY?!? It was so wonderful that even Little Miss couldn’t get enough.

IMG_3938

She kept asking for “More of that sauce, Mama!”

I love her. And I love this new recipe.

Oh. I’m sorry. I’ve been so busy telling you how amazing it was, I almost forgot to post it! (Just kidding. How could I forget to share this small piece of Heaven?)

IMG_3918

Here’s what you’ll need to serve 2-4 people:

2 Ham steaks (whatever kind you prefer)

3 Tbs. Butter

10 oz. crushed Pineapple

1/4 cup Brown Sugar

3 tsp. Garlic Powder

2 Tbs. Flour

Salt and Pepper to taste

Start off by melting your butter in a large skillet, over medium-high heat.

You’ll want enough room to brown all the ham. If making more than 2 ham steaks, I recommend browning them first. Set them off to the side, and then start with the “sauce”.

Once your butter is melted, sprinkle brown sugar over bottom of the pan. Add in the garlic powder and some salt and pepper.

Allow the brown sugar and butter to start to cook down together, being VERY CAREFUL not to burn it!

After about 3 minutes, place the ham in the sauce. Pour the pineapple over the ham (Do not stir or mix or combine. Or incorporate. Or… never mind. You get the point.) and bring to a roll…That’s how I like to say, “Make sure it’s really hot and bubbling”. Now, I know I said don’t mix it, but some of the juice will inevitably run down into the butter/brown sugar mixture. This is fine… just don’t “mix” it. Once your mixture has come to a roll, reduce the heat, cover and allow it to simmer for about 5-10 minutes.

Next, remove the ham and place on a serving platter, leaving the pineapple, and brown sugar mixture.

Sprinkle the flour over the sauce that is taking shape!

You are almost done and ready to partake in your portion of Heaven.

Whisk the flour until there are no lumps. I mean, there will still be tidbits of pineapple, but those aren’t lumps… they’re tidbits.

Now you have perfectly browned, salty ham:

IMG_3920

And wonderfully tart, yet sweet sauce:

IMG_3924

Combine and enjoy:

IMG_3937Until we meet again,

Mama

Leave a Reply

